Boating Safety Course at Croton Yacht Club

The Croton Yacht Club, located at 6 Elliott Way in Croton-on-Hudson, will be hosting a New York State Boating Safety & Personal Watercraft Certification Course on Sunday, March 27th from 9:00 AM – 5:00PM. The course is being offered by the New York Boating Safety organization and the fee is $70.00 per student. Pre-registration is suggested by visiting http://www.nyboatingsafety.com

Under a recent law known as Brianna's Law, all motor boat operators: 

  • born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022
  • born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023
  • born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024
  • All motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025
  • You must hold a safety certificate if you operate a personal watercraft (PWC) and are at least 14 years of age. Anyone may operate a personal watercraft if someone at least 18 years old is on the craft and they hold a safety certificate.
  • The required boating safety certificate must be carried at all times while operating the boat or personal watercraft (PWC). An approved course in boater education includes at least 8-hours of classroom training and a proctored exam. Students must be at least 10 years old to take the course.

Other boater education course options are also available online.